The Los Angeles Rams defeated the Cincinnati Bengals 23-20 to win the first Super Bowl for the city of L.A.
But it almost never came to be.
And an obvious blown call in the Super Bowl proved one thing about NFL officials.
NFL officials stink.
And the lousy NFL officiating almost cost the Rams the Super Bowl.
The Rams led the Bengals 13-10 after the first half.
On the first play of the second half, Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow lofted a pass down the left sideline for wide receiver Tee Higgins.
Higgins grabbed Rams cornerback Jalen Ramsey by the facemask and yanked Ramsey to the ground, nearly tearing Ramsey’s helmet off, allowing Higgins to break free of the coverage, catch the ball and race 75 yards for a touchdown to give the Bengals a 17-13 lead.
Somehow, the obviously visually deficient officials missed this blatant pass interference.
Tee Higgins definitely got away with one. Grabbed Ramsey's facemask. pic.twitter.com/yg4yFxd9VY
— Ari Meirov (@MySportsUpdate) February 14, 2022
The Rams overcame the blown call to win the franchise’ second Super Bowl – the first was in 1999 when the team played in St. Louis.
But there was some poetic justice in the Rams being on the wrong end of an obvious missed pass interference call.
In 2018, the Rams only made the Super Bowl because the officials ignored a blatant defensive pass interference penalty against the Rams in the NFC Championship Game against the New Orleans Saints.
The play was so egregious the NFL implemented one of the most controversial rule changes of all time by allowing coaches to challenge pass interference penalties.
The rule only lasted during the 2019 season as it became obvious the officials staged their own protest against reviewing pass interference calls.
Replay officials upheld 91 percent of pass interference calls as the refs sent a message to the league that they did not want to review judgment call penalties.
The missed pass interference call tainted the Rams trip to the Super Bowl three years ago.
This time the Rams were on the wrong end of horrific NFL officiating.
Fortunately, the missed pass interference call did not decide the outcome of the Super Bowl.
Sports with Balls will keep you up-to-date on any new developments in this ongoing story.